194 Queen West, Toronto

Dallas/Brooklyn's Snarky Puppy

Hailing from Brooklyn, New York, and Dallas, the unassuming Texas town that produced Roy Orbison, The Eagles, Brave Combo, and Blood, Sweat, & Tears, Snarky Puppy is spreading its infectious blend of jazz, soul, and world music to an audience hungry for something creative and inspiring.

Made up mostly of former music students from the highly esteemed University of North Texas (affectionately referred to as "the Juilliard of the South"), the band effortlessly blends a strong sense of musicality and virtuosity with raw, organic musical instincts. The 9-piece group is doing something very relevant, and something very honest- they're making music as a generation immersed in diversity. Bjork, Dave Holland, D'Angelo, Wayne Krantz, Pat Metheny, Lettuce, and Radiohead resonate within the compositions to form the unified, unique, soulful sound that is unmistakably Snarky Puppy.

The group was formed in 2004 by award-winning bassist and composer Michael League, and immediately gained the support of a large, diverse audience. The group has released two albums and one live, full-length DVD on SiTMoM Records to heavy critical acclaim. In summer of 2007, Snarky Puppy added legendary keyboardists Bernard Wright and Robert "Sput" Searight (of Erykah Badu and Snoop Dogg) to the lineup as the sound of the ensemble has continued to grow and mature.

Outside of Snarky Puppy, the band members have performed with some of the biggest names in jazz and popular music, including Miles Davis, Dave Brubeck, Sting, Snoop Dogg, Erykah Badu, Eddie Gomez, Maria Schneider, Roberta Flack, Dave Douglas, Phil Woods, Marcus Miller, Maynard Ferguson, Bill Holman, Morcheeba, Headhunters, Chaka Khan, Jimmy Cobb, Marc Johnson, Slide Hampton, Jimmy Heath, Benny Golson, "Snooky" Young, Lenny White, and countless more.

Snarky Puppy is maintaining a heavy tour schedule while preparing the release their third album.

They have shared the stage with Victor Wooten, Herbie Hancock's Headhunters, Rudder, Zach Brock, Ari Hoenig & Punk Bop, the Chris Tarry Group, Mingo Fishtrap, and many more.