416.598.2475
194 Queen West, Toronto

REVIEWS


03/20/2016

"Awesome Hotel!"

The hotel is very cool and the bar downstairs is awesome, the service is great and the ambience is very musical. The location of the hotel is great and it's a very good place to stay. I definitely will come back next time. 

-dominguezdaniel (Trip Advisor)

11/19/2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Rex for 6 days and 5 nights. We got there around 7pm, reception was at the bar as the reception had closed for the day. We got a really warm welcome from the guy at the bar and got a really good vibe from the jazz bar and the jazz music that was playing. The room was completely sound proof from the bar down stairs. The room was small but clean and cosy! The staff here are incredible! The first morning we had breakfast in the restaurant/bar downstairs and the owner (i think his name was bob) of the place was so kind and welcoming! He gave us a map and a heap of recommendations. I also asked where I could get a plug convertor for our phones, my blow dryer and hair straighter. And he told us not to worry he can provide them and 10 mins later he brings me a blow Dryer, hair straightener and a plug convertor for my phone, all free of charge!!!
I would 100% stay here again!!! The food is delicious, staff is amazing and location is incredible!!! 15-20min walk to the CN Tower and hockey center. And a 7min walk to the Toronto Eaton Shopping Center. Also 1 min walk from Osegoode subway station.

-Maggie S. (Trip Advisor)

15/07/2012
When my Taxi dropped me off I could not find the Hotel Rex; however there was an entrance for the "bar/Jazz club" called the Rex. My first inclination was to run........ However I did muster my courage and perhaps motivated by my curiosity entered the bar and inquired "Where is the Hotel Rex?". A very friendly older gentlemen named Bob, said "it's here, you are in it!". Well, we walked to the end of the bar and he picked through a number of handwritten registration cards and well the rest is history. Lots of history since the Bar/Hotel was founded by Bob's father in 1952 and past to Bob and now to Bob's son Avi. During the course of the years the Bar/Hotel introduced Jazz somewhere around the 1960's as I recall.

I am a very frequent business traveler and often stay in the stereotypical large chain hotels. You know what I mean they all look the same and have the same amenities etc.; however lack "character"... The Rex surely gets 5 stars for that.

Bob barked out at a passing employee (no uniforms here, just jeans and tee shirts) "hey, this stuff up to room # 224 if it's clean." He yelled to a young girl "hey, is 224 made up yet?" We I went with the fellow that carried my bags up two flights (no elevators to wait for or get stuck in) and upon entering the room was pleasantly surprised at it being newly appointed with nice modern stainless bathroom fixtures, glass cage shower etc. I reached into my pocket to extend a "Gratuity" and the chap said "no thank you, it's my pleasure; we are a family business here"; Wow very impressive; I actually almost felt like family as well.

I chatted with Bob often during my one night stay to here more of the Rex's history; was exceptionally friendly and helpful and never missed an opportunity to offer me a drink; very generous of him for sure. I was introduced to his son, Avi, who now runs the third generation operation.

That evening (Monday) there was a great Jazz ensemble that played, and after the entertainment I could just walk up my two flights and was comfy in my bed; very convenient for sure.

The location on Queen Street is convenient to everywhere that is relevant in Toronto, and most could would be a short walk.

I would definitely recommend this jewel to those that wish to stay somewhere unique and not be swayed by "collecting loyalty points" since the price here is right; in summary a very enjoyable experience, and I would return.

Walter H.

30/03/2012
Hello there,

I just wanted to thank you again for a marvellous stay at the Rex. Your hotel was quite possibly the best place I've ever stayed at. Very nice simple design in the room, really convenient location, very friendly and helpful staff, and the place has so much character, I had a wonderful time! Even the food is delicious, and really affordable (fantastic lasagna!) I'm not even a jazz fanatic, but I have to admit I enjoyed every single night at the bar downstairs, too. I can't even think of a negative thing to say! Keep up the good work and thank you again,

Best,
Arnaud

28/08/2011
My wife and me spend a week at the Rex in August 2011. We had a wonderful time. With a warm welcome, a clean room, no nightly disturbance of the life music and friendly staff. Everything to visit in Toronto is in walking distance. So don't hesitate to book this hotel.

Mala And Peter

12/08/2011
I stay at the Rex regularly when I am in Toronto on business. I've always been delighted by the service, the value and the cleanliness of the rooms. I've never had a bad night's sleep at the Rex.

Paul H.

15/06/2011
Hello Tom and Bob,
I would just like to tell you both that my Californian friend and myself had a great time staying at your hotel on the Wednesday and Thursday night a couple of weeks ago. The room was clean, the music was great. But the best thing about your hotel by far is the attitude of the staff. All very courteous and helpful at all times. Love the Rex!!

Thanks again,
Bruce H.

09/05/2011
I stayed at The Rex on May 7th, just for the one night, and I must say that I LOVE it! I wish I'd had more time, and that I could sample all the food in the restaurant and listen to a full day of bands. The staff was super friendly, the room was clean & perfect for my brief stay, the location in the city is incredible, and I loved walking back to the hotel at night and hearing the jazz beats from outside. Lovely establishment and I will most definitely be back (I am hours from Toronto, in the States) to spend at least a whole day just at the Rex!! Erica

24/01/2011
Hi:

I just wanted to thank you for a wonderful stay. We took advantage of the "jazz weekend" and the entire package was fantastic.

We are jazz fans from Peterborough and I always look to "The Rex" to present great jazz. I was certainly not disappointed. I chose this evening as I used to listen to the "Jive Bombers" years ago when they backed up a singer named "Shox Johnson". I had suspected Alex Dean would be the tenor man. Although I do enjoy Alex, my favourite sax player in the city is Mike Murley. I was extremely pleased to see him sitting in. Kirk MacDonald was his usual amazing self, constantly challenging me to figure the interesting lines (I'm a sax player as well) he comes up with and the other members of his trio were fine compliments. What a great night of music.

The meals were fantastic, the staff was so nice and the room was great. Although it is small, it was clean and comfortable and quiet.

Thanks again for a great stay and a great deal. I have always felt it was so good of the people at "The Rex" to be such fine jazz promoters. Now, having taken advantage of the opportunity to stay there I can say I am nothing but impressed.

Thanks!
William

03/06/2010
Dear Sirs,

I want to thank you for the very nice stay I had with you early March this year, during my attendance to the PDAC in Toronto. It is the second time I have had the pleasure of having a room with you - 2008 and now 2010 - after I in 2007 discovered that you not only had the jazz and blues bar with excellent burgers and great beer, but also accommodation which fitted my needs perfectly. It is central - 10/15 minutes walk to almost everywhere inclusive the PDAC (and only 5 minutes away from the bus stop from/to the airport) - very good value for the money, friendly and relaxing. I happy to recommend you to friends and family and I look forward staying with you the next time I am in Toronto.

Best regards
T.F.

18/10/2009
Hi I just wanted to thnk Bob and all of the staff for making my stay great! The people , food and music were wonderful and gave me the break i needed. thank you so much!!

Wendy H.

Sun 12/04/2009 15:02
We would like to compliment the Rex and it's management for the high quality of it's renovations and it's very pleasant and spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms, which we enjoyed during our recent stay in the Hotel.

We would also like to thank Bob and the Staff for their kind and thoughtful hospitality, contributing to a very pleasant experience, which we intend to repeat.

T. and J. S.

Tue 14/04/2009
Hi, S. and I stayed there in mid March (the 14th - 15th) and I said we'd send our review and a contact for Bed and Breakfasts here in Cobourg. For the B&B's, you can visit www.cobourgtourism.ca or call 1-866-262-6874. Victoria View is my favourite - www.victoriavew.ca. We really enjoyed our stay at the Rex. The location is convenient to the hustle and bustle of Queen Street West. The music on the main floor was great. The rooms were clean - loved the bathrooms - the glass shower door was so clean I had to touch it to confirm that it was actually there. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks for making my birthday weekend so much fun.

Lisa.

Fri 22/05/2009
I have stayed at the Rex for the last 3 years I've had to come to Toronto on a business trip. I have always been treated with the utmost kindness of an out of the country visitor would expect. I would highly recommend the Rex for your stays in Toronto. Their food is great and the bands always keep the joint hoppin! Many thanks to Bob, Tom and Avi for making mine and my travellers the best of possible stays in the Toronto area. Each year I am more impressed with the new up-grades the hotel has accomplished. I'm looking forward to next years visit!

DMC - Wichita, Kansas

I hope to see you guys again next year!

Fri 01/08/2008
Hi,

My name is K. G. and i was at your place between the dates of 2-july till the 16-july. i wanted to thank all the staff for the good hospitality and especially Tom and Bob. the location of the hotel is great, the price is reasonable and the jazz restaurant is a kind of bonus. thanks fo all the staff i enjoyed every minute while my stay and i hope i will see you again.

Sincerely
k. G.