Reviews

    review rating 5  Hands down one of the best nights out I’ve had in a long time!!! Came to TO on a Monday night and heard about the Rex. What a place!! Old school jazz, clapping crowds, great food and service and just a genuine good time. Highly recommended!!

    thumb Tessa B
    7/08/2019

    review rating 5  Great music, decent food, friendly service. Went on a Saturday during the earlier, free session. The music was great, and I got to see a pedal steel guitar for the first time. This was the first live music venue we checked out during our Toronto visit and I wasn't disappointed.

    thumb Jamaal Garnett
    7/07/2019

    review rating 4  Great place to stay in Toronto for the price. Its in a great location and the staff are very welcoming. Just make sure if you do book a room here that you check that your room has a seperate washroom. Rooms are a bit small and the room tech is old, but not complaining, still a great experience! I would book again.

    thumb Miles Gargaritano
    7/05/2019

    review rating 5  This is a great venue with some incredible jazz. My family and I went to see the Bob Brough Quartet and were blown away. There's good seating throughout the place: service was great and they have a nice selection of craft beer.

    thumb Ross Brown
    6/19/2019

    review rating 5  This place is awesome!! Everyone that works there is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are super clean. The food is great. If you're a vegetarian, the veggie burger is really good. The atmosphere is great. It's close to everywhere you want to be downtown. It'll be our go to place if we need a place to stay in Toronto! We went again in June. Such an awesome place. The atmosphere is great, the food is great, the staff are great. Just a nice place to be.

    thumb Jaime Davis
    6/18/2019

    review rating 5  One of the best places in downtown Toronto for getting your jazz dose. I was lucky to go on a day were some old school band was playing, and man it was awesome. They might have an entrance fee which I think they should at least give a drink with it! The service can be a bit faster I guess, but never the less, their prices were reasonable.

    thumb Omar Abdelhaq
    6/03/2019

    review rating 5  Great live music, I saw Amy Bucher, in a jazz bar that is not stuffy but alive, busy, and happening. Nice bar-style food, great beers. The audience was between 20 and 80, super friendly and open to music that spans the gamut from blues to abstract jazz. I wish I lived in Toronto so I could go here once a week.

    thumb Dirk Janssen
    6/03/2019

    review rating 5  Excellent service. Really nice personnel. Price is really affordable. Breakfast it's really good. If you are visiting Toronto, go to The Rex. PS. The music it's great at the club.

    thumb Rodrigo Bernal Ramírez
    5/20/2019

    review rating 4  Very relaxed casual vibe. Great place to hang out with a beer and some great live music. This is a classic pub/bar experience. Friendly staff, reasonable prices and a wide range of patrons from the very young to the to the well seasoned. No matter what your age you can feel comfortable here and if you love live music, they have lots of it.

    thumb Bryan Fernandez
    4/13/2019

    review rating 4  Great music with a relaxed atmosphere. It was odd to have the doorman come around for a cover at 9pm for patrons who had been in the bar for 2+ hours eating and drinking already. The food and drink were good; it did take a while to get served initially but once served the first time things went smoother.

    thumb Jay Legue
    4/09/2019

    review rating 4  It's a dive bar that's been in business since Moses was in diapers. It hasn't been redecorated since then either but it has an ambiance, a charming patina to it that is nostalgic and unpretentious, a nice atmosphere. Famous for it's jazz every night, it's usually packed. Pub fare is surprisingly tasty as well. If you get too wobbly, you can rent a fairly recently renovated room upstairs.

    thumb Ken Hillman
    4/06/2019

    review rating 4  One of those great classic places that we need to keep supporting before it gets torn down to build condos... Any night of the week you can find great live music here in an old school bar environment. Decent and pretty affordable food (I had a $12 burger and fries), a very upbeat and social atmosphere, a wide range of drinks and a really lovely staff. Most of Toronto's live music venues have closed or gone downhill, I would strongly recommend supporting this one while you can.

    thumb June Yates
    3/28/2019

    review rating 5  Visited an early Saturday night: loved it. Got there at 1830 to closing number of afternoon band - they were good. Stayed for the mid-evening band from 1930 onwards. They were good. 1st was big band, second was classics soul. Food was fine. Reasonably priced place too. Will be back!

    thumb Duncan P
    3/11/2019

    review rating 4  Been there once. Pretty good experience. Our server was pretty rude. It was likely that she was incredibly busy and us taking a bit too much time to decide what we wanted want appreciated too much. Good music. Decent food.

    thumb Merin V
    2/27/2019

    review rating 5  This place is awesome!! Everyone that works there is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are super clean. The food is great. If you're a vegetarian, the veggie burger is really good. The atmosphere is great. It's close to everywhere you want to be downtown. It'll be our go to place if we need a place to stay in Toronto!

    thumb jaime davis
    2/25/2019

    review rating 5  I’ve been going here since I was a kid and it has always been a great place to grab food and drinks as well as catch some jazz and blues shows. I prefer the big bands but have also seen some great smaller acts. Worth checking out the program before you go. Never been to the hotel but have always had a good experience at the restaurant. Occasionally have had a mediocre waiter or waitress but the food is good and almost always have had a great overall experience here. Really like the old Toronto vibe. Would recommend.

    thumb Max Perna
    2/25/2019