Reviews

    5 star review  It was a great experience overall. I hesitated before we arrived due to covid-19, but they have done perfect cleaning before our arrival. We felt safe when we leave the hotel.

    thumb Elchanan Goldstein
    10/26/2020

    4 star review  'Fine' place for live jazz and blues, if you're good to let your hair down. It's about as basic and old-school as it gets for a downtown Toronto venue. It's the music that has me coming back for years already! Good sweet potato fries, very nice Triple Decker clubhouse sandwiches. The rest of the menu looks good too. The clientele and service staff is 9/10 friendly and they have a low-key patio that's been the site of some good times. If you're ever up for a great time while wasting an occasional weekend afternoon, this is THE place. See Jerome Godboo and Shawn Kellerman when they come to play (the Saturday of any Solstice).....now there's a show that parallels a live concert sound. Simply amazing! Although Terry Wilkins as part of the Sinners Choir seems to be a weekly regular and they can all make for a fun atmosphere too. πŸ‘πŸ‘ I - for one, am glad the Rex continues to reign among our live music choices. 🎼🎢

    thumb Kay Dubbleyuh
    10/20/2020

    5 star review  Great music. Relaxed atmosphere. Only place in Toronto to consistently have jazz!

    thumb Duncan Hopkins
    10/10/2020

    5 star review  The place is really nice and old style! Really nice staff and of course...WONDERFUL MUSIC!

    thumb Parnian
    10/05/2020

    5 star review  As a music lover, this place has some great artists coming to perform! The atmosphere is always pleasant and the food is decently good. Very pleased overall

    thumb Vera Ush
    3/09/2020

    5 star review  I went for the jazz and was pleasantly surprised, good food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. I would highly recommend! They even do breakfast.

    thumb James Stevens
    3/04/2020

    4 star review  Nice spot but maybe don't go there if you're under 40.

    thumb Edward Shah
    3/02/2020

    5 star review  First time going there, upon my kids' strong recommendation, and not disappointed. With free and impressive music performance (thought tips expected), the food itself is actually not expensive with plenty portion. Some people just bought drinks there, which is not cheap, and I got some beer as well, but really recommend to order full dinner there, as you might stay there for long time.

    thumb Frank Wu
    1/05/2020

    5 star review  Top Jazz spot in Toronto. We love going for the early shows on the weekend. No cover, pay what you can by tip jar. Usually more classic jazz, more interesting in my opinion. Food is pretty good and there's a decent beer list.

    thumb Abe Greenspoon
    1/04/2020

    5 star review  I don't know anything about the hotel itself but the bar was amazing. Found a comfortable booth in the corner. Server was cheerful, quick and attentive. The blues band that afternoon was super tight and on point. My lunch was super cheap but good ($12 cheeseburger and fries). Who said Toronto was expensive? This is a bargain!

    thumb John Stefani
    12/29/2019

    5 star review  This is one of my favourite places in downtown Toronto because of the great food with a reasonable price. This is a classic restaurant with great atmosphere. The classic jazz music play almost every day. Just stay by yourself catch a performance will make your night.This is a really good place to hangout with friends and grab some quick bite. Really relaxing great costumer service, our waiter is amazingly friendly. Comfortable for a Friday night after a busy week. Great location also

    thumb Khang Nguyen
    12/27/2019

    4 star review  The music was amazing. We went there about 11pm on Saturday and this band which name was *something* tone did an amazing job. The only down part is it's all over at about midnight. The place isn't closed but the live music is done

    thumb Simeon Charles
    12/22/2019

    4 star review  Drop in for a bit of bar food and perhaps a nice set or two of pick up Jazz or a featured band. Service is good and it's fun to squat down next to someone you don't know and leave with a new friend. Very enjoyable evening. We will definitely be going back.

    thumb Debrah Dyck
    12/08/2019

    5 star review  The staff were awesome and the food at the lounge was delicious. Had a quiet pub vibe when the bands weren't playing. The hotel room was adequate and reasonably priced.

    thumb Cyrinah
    12/06/2019

    5 star review  Lovely bar. We very pleasingly arrived in time to see a couple of good bands performing whilst we had a cooling drink. The food & booze are well priced.

    thumb Martin Angus
    10/03/2019

    4 star review  Kind of a remarkable place that seems to have changed little over the years. In this case a mostly great thing. Great music, affordable. Great atmosphere. Could do without the smell of urine wafting from the mens room each time the door opens. Perhaps part of charm?

    thumb Robert Sischy
    9/23/2019