Reviews

    review rating 4  Very relaxed casual vibe. Great place to hang out with a beer and some great live music. This is a classic pub/bar experience. Friendly staff, reasonable prices and a wide range of patrons from the very young to the to the well seasoned. No matter what your age you can feel comfortable here and if you love live music, they have lots of it.

    thumb Bryan Fernandez
    4/13/2019

    review rating 4  Great music with a relaxed atmosphere. It was odd to have the doorman come around for a cover at 9pm for patrons who had been in the bar for 2+ hours eating and drinking already. The food and drink were good; it did take a while to get served initially but once served the first time things went smoother.

    thumb Jay Legue
    4/09/2019

    review rating 4  It's a dive bar that's been in business since Moses was in diapers. It hasn't been redecorated since then either but it has an ambiance, a charming patina to it that is nostalgic and unpretentious, a nice atmosphere. Famous for it's jazz every night, it's usually packed. Pub fare is surprisingly tasty as well. If you get too wobbly, you can rent a fairly recently renovated room upstairs.

    thumb Ken Hillman
    4/06/2019

    review rating 4  One of those great classic places that we need to keep supporting before it gets torn down to build condos... Any night of the week you can find great live music here in an old school bar environment. Decent and pretty affordable food (I had a $12 burger and fries), a very upbeat and social atmosphere, a wide range of drinks and a really lovely staff. Most of Toronto's live music venues have closed or gone downhill, I would strongly recommend supporting this one while you can.

    thumb June Yates
    3/28/2019

    review rating 5  Visited an early Saturday night: loved it. Got there at 1830 to closing number of afternoon band - they were good. Stayed for the mid-evening band from 1930 onwards. They were good. 1st was big band, second was classics soul. Food was fine. Reasonably priced place too. Will be back!

    thumb Duncan P
    3/11/2019

    review rating 4  Been there once. Pretty good experience. Our server was pretty rude. It was likely that she was incredibly busy and us taking a bit too much time to decide what we wanted want appreciated too much. Good music. Decent food.

    thumb Merin V
    2/27/2019

    review rating 5  This place is awesome!! Everyone that works there is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are super clean. The food is great. If you're a vegetarian, the veggie burger is really good. The atmosphere is great. It's close to everywhere you want to be downtown. It'll be our go to place if we need a place to stay in Toronto!

    thumb jaime davis
    2/25/2019

    review rating 5  I’ve been going here since I was a kid and it has always been a great place to grab food and drinks as well as catch some jazz and blues shows. I prefer the big bands but have also seen some great smaller acts. Worth checking out the program before you go. Never been to the hotel but have always had a good experience at the restaurant. Occasionally have had a mediocre waiter or waitress but the food is good and almost always have had a great overall experience here. Really like the old Toronto vibe. Would recommend.

    thumb Max Perna
    2/25/2019

    review rating 5  It's the freaking Rex guys! It's a Toronto staple imo. If you're a tourist, come here. If you're downtown, come here. If you're bored at home, come here. Amazing environment. Fantastic music. Drinks are a little pricey, but food is always great.

    thumb Miss Orchid
    2/05/2019

    review rating 4  A Toronto jazz institution. Good food/limited menu. Burgers and nachos good bets. Decent beer list but it's mostly about the music. Check their schedule. Come early to get a better seat; some seats obstructed or face away from the stage.

    thumb Gary Lyon
    1/29/2019

    review rating 4  Location is excellent. In the centre of Toronto Downtown. Had room with a private washroom which I think is a must. Very loud with Jazz music downstairs but I fully knew it and didn't bother me much. Friendly staff.

    thumb Jaeryong Jung
    1/19/2019

    review rating 5  This is a great, vibrant place to get drinks, eats and a whole lotta jazz! I really love the vibe of the place. It does get loud though, so if you're more into quiet jazz, and a romantic night out this isn't quite the place for you. At least not whenever I have gone there. I always love the bands and servers are always nice, jokey, and attentive. This is definitely one of my favourite spots in the city!

    thumb Amelia M
    1/12/2019

    review rating 4  A wonderful place to listen to new jazz and blues. Make sure you bring your patience as it's a busy place and the waitress will eventually get to you. Fortunately there's usually great music playing to listen to.

    thumb Angus Willoughby
    12/31/2018

    review rating 4  I really want to give this 2 stars hotel a 5 stars review but I can't... It is a great place to stay in the heart of downtown Toronto. The room we used (double bed with private bathroom) was missing some important amenities (phone, kettle...) The hosts and crew are warm, kind and welcoming. We've enjoyed our stay. Thank you, we will come back 🙂

    thumb Yushi
    12/27/2018

    review rating 5  Great music and food and drinks were good as well. The atmosphere was cozy and friendly staff. Great place to listen to music. I look forward to going again real soon

    thumb Sunny S
    12/24/2018

    review rating 5  It's an excellent place to stay, not just for the kindness of all the staff, but because of the art in the walls and the amazing music in the bar. It's near to everything, so you can just walk to all the popular touristic places in Toronto. The food and drinks at the bar are really good too. The rooms are super clean, with a lot of amenities and they are big. The cost-quality relationship is perfect!

    thumb Jessica Morales
    12/13/2018