Reviews

    review rating 5  Lovely bar. We very pleasingly arrived in time to see a couple of good bands performing whilst we had a cooling drink. The food & booze are well priced.

    thumb Martin Angus
    10/03/2019

    review rating 4  Kind of a remarkable place that seems to have changed little over the years. In this case a mostly great thing. Great music, affordable. Great atmosphere. Could do without the smell of urine wafting from the mens room each time the door opens. Perhaps part of charm?

    thumb Robert Sischy
    9/23/2019

    review rating 5  It is a nice venue to listen to Jazz or Blues. The place has affordable prices and great jazz groups and soloists. The food is great and they have many options for vegetarians. Amanda was the server for us and she was really nice, fast and very attentive to what was going on around. It is my first time here but I will certainly come back because it felt really good to have wonderful fries while I could listen such a talented musician.

    thumb Ana Gonzalez
    9/15/2019

    review rating 5  This place is a real gem. I saw Kirk McDonald, Terry Clarke, and two young jazz legends Russel Macklem and Sam Dickinson play. For jazz lovers the rex is an absolute must. The menu is reasonably priced for Toronto and has pretty good food. Staff are friendly and I purchased a mug. They have a bunch of really nice merchandise like shirts and other things, and compelling jazz memorabilia.

    thumb Courtney Gifford
    9/07/2019

    review rating 5  One the last remaining "Original" Queen West institutions. It's longevity is not due to the bar itself, which is dated and has small washrooms, but rather how committed the owners and staff are to holding out and staying true. Also helps that it's one of the more affordable options for beer and food in the area.

    thumb Gilles Frenette
    9/02/2019

    review rating 5  Have been there once but am waiting to go again. Cover charges are $20 which is totally worth every penny. Performances are amazing and food is really inexpensive. Great place to visit on any special occasion.

    thumb Big B
    8/21/2019

    review rating 5  Nice little hotel above a jazz venue. Rooms were a little small. Some rooms have a private bathroom others have a common shared bathroom. Room was no frills but a great place to use as a base to explore the city. Parking garage a short walk away. There is also a metro station about a 3 min walk away. For the price you cannot go wrong. Will definitely stay here again!

    thumb Michael Kolanko
    8/17/2019

    review rating 5  This is a great spot for live jazz performances. The bar has a lot of history on the jazz front in Toronto, and a great vibe all around. There is seating available outside as well for those who want the music in the background. Note that there is a $15 cover to enter, we attended on a busy Saturday.

    thumb Faiz Ahmed
    8/13/2019

    review rating 5  We had the best time having drinks and listening to some amazing jazz music by Red Hot Ramble. Such a great afternoon. Wouldn't expect to have such good live music playing in the afternoon, it was a really great surprise. Tap list is great, lots of interesting beers, and food looked really good.

    thumb Jon TeBrugge
    8/12/2019

    review rating 5  Went for the pub on a Sunday. They had a live jazz band and the waitresses were really nice! The vibe was different and chill, the music was amazing and I would definitely come back for some more jazz

    thumb John Louisse Fernandez
    8/11/2019

    review rating 5  We didn't eat here although we did see some nice dishes go past us, mostly burgers and the like. We came for the jazz and a few drinks. Tap selection was very good (those of you actually read my reviews know I have a thing about draft beer). There were probably at least 15 different beers, from the usual corporate variety, to the nice "crafty" stuff. They also serve the usual gamut of cocktails. Wine selection was a bit limited though: "house red" and "house white" although they appeared to be of better quality than the usual "plonk". The bar itself is old school in appearance. A lot of wood and very cozy atmosphere. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the bar's product also no complaint there. The hotel itself is a recent "boutique" refurbish so if you're interested in staying in Toronto more on the edge of downtown as opposed to the interior, this may be the place for you. I would estimate you're looking at an easy 10-15 minute walk to Yonge Street. The Toronto subway also has a stop a block away from the hotel. All in all, a fun place. Totally recommend, at the very least, a few pints and listening to local (mostly) jazz combos.

    thumb mikeypro
    8/10/2019

    review rating 5  Hands down one of the best nights out I’ve had in a long time!!! Came to TO on a Monday night and heard about the Rex. What a place!! Old school jazz, clapping crowds, great food and service and just a genuine good time. Highly recommended!!

    thumb Tessa B
    7/08/2019

    review rating 5  Great music, decent food, friendly service. Went on a Saturday during the earlier, free session. The music was great, and I got to see a pedal steel guitar for the first time. This was the first live music venue we checked out during our Toronto visit and I wasn't disappointed.

    thumb Jamaal Garnett
    7/07/2019

    review rating 4  Great place to stay in Toronto for the price. Its in a great location and the staff are very welcoming. Just make sure if you do book a room here that you check that your room has a seperate washroom. Rooms are a bit small and the room tech is old, but not complaining, still a great experience! I would book again.

    thumb Miles Gargaritano
    7/05/2019

    review rating 5  This is a great venue with some incredible jazz. My family and I went to see the Bob Brough Quartet and were blown away. There's good seating throughout the place: service was great and they have a nice selection of craft beer.

    thumb Ross Brown
    6/19/2019

    review rating 5  This place is awesome!! Everyone that works there is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are super clean. The food is great. If you're a vegetarian, the veggie burger is really good. The atmosphere is great. It's close to everywhere you want to be downtown. It'll be our go to place if we need a place to stay in Toronto! We went again in June. Such an awesome place. The atmosphere is great, the food is great, the staff are great. Just a nice place to be.

    thumb Jaime Davis
    6/18/2019